The Butcher’s Block, Wahroonga ($$)

Address: 15 Redleaf Ave, Wahroonga NSW

Tel: (02) 9487 8136

Website: http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Butchers-Block

Opening hours:

Sunday- Closed

Monday – Saturday: 6:00 am – 5:00 pm

* * *

Prowsey and I decided to catch up for some Saturday morning brekky. Prowsey is one of my best friends and although we are both pretty busy with work and other commitments we have been making more of an effort to catch up regularly.

We decided to head over to Butcher’s Block to try out the brekky menu.

I had been here before with ClareBear and really enjoyed it and Prowsey has been a few times as well.

1

Service

I arrived at Butcher’s Block at about 10.15 am. The plan was to meet at 10.30 am and I expected that Prowsey would be a bit late – as she usually is- but wanted to get there early to get a table.

When I got there I stood around the front for a bit before finding the person with the “magic clipboard” which would get you a table. After writing my name down on the list, I waited about 30 mins standing outside.

6

I must admit that the system at Butcher’s Block is not the best. If I had not been there before I might have been waiting outside for a long time before I realised that I needed to put my name on a list. I think a better system would be for the person with the clipboard to either wait outside to greet guests or for them to have the clipboard outside with a sign telling people to write their names on it (similar to that at Sushi Hotaru).

Either way, despite the poor organisation of the “magic clipboard”, Prowsey arrived at about 10.45 and we finally got a seat inside.

2

Service was pretty good – our food was brought out quickly and everyone was really friendly, helpful and polite.

The one issue I had was that they seemed to be hurrying us up to leave. We felt that they would constantly come over to us and ask us how we were going or clearing plates as soon as we put the fork and knife down. Understandably they are really busy and want to get people in and out, but you certainly feel it! Not the place to go when you want to take your time eating and drinking.

Atmosphere

Atmosphere was lovely and exciting, full of the clinks of forks and knives and people talking. The cute decor is perfect for the spot (see my previous post on The Butcher’s Block for more details), and luckily it wasn’t raining so the beautiful sunshine was streaming through the windows and open outdoor seating at the back.

Overall it’s a pretty nice and peaceful spot and quite cosy too if not for the fact that it is so busy!

Food

5

Prowsey decided to order the Big Breakfast with a side of mushrooms. Prowsey loves mushrooms and was pleased with the large quantity of mushrooms she got for only $4.00. She also enjoyed the sourdough bread and lovely eggs. She also had two skim cappuccinos which were beautifully presented and which came out really quickly.

4

I ordered the Ricotta Pancakes with Caramelised Bananas and Cream. The ricotta pancakes were soft and thick, deliciously puffy and melt in your mouth good. The bananas were cooked in the pan until they were just soft on the outside, and the caramel on top was crunchy and hard, adding a bitterness to the starchy bananas and sweet pancakes. The dish was delicious and I thoroughly enjoyed it, would definitely get it again.

3

The coffee was delicious and although I don’t drink coffee that often I had two cups- a latte and a capp! They also do takeaway which seems to be popular with the soccer and rugby mums in the area!

Cost:

Overall my meal cost $23.00

Rating:

I would rate my experience (out of 10):

  • Service- 5.5
  • Food- 8.5
  • Ambience- 6
  • Value –6 

The Butcher's Block on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

