Spice I Am, Darlinghurst ($)

Address: 296/300 Victoria St, Darlinghurst NSW 

Tel: (02) 9332 2445

Website: http://www.spiceiam.com/

* * *

My friend PJ and I decided to head over for some warm and inviting Thai food on Tuesday. I had walked past Spice I Am a couple of times and not really noticed it due to the dark exterior.

This time we decided to walk in, and I was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful interior.

1

Atmosphere

The restaurant has a lovely sleek and modern look with a slightly bohemian vibe.

2

On this occasion there were a few other tables of diners, but it wasn’t very busy. I’m sure at night however, on a Friday or Saturday, this place would be buzzing given it’s location and good prices.

Service

A staff member welcomed us at the door and provided us with menus, including the weekday lunch special menu. We were invited to take a seat, and chose a small table near the entrance.

Staff were friendly, but our waiter had poor English and was new so she had some trouble understanding what we wanted and did not know whether we could change up some of the dishes to accommodate my vegetarian friend.

Food

I decided to go for some spicy prawns and tried the signature dish- Pad Prik Khing. This dish was made from a stir-fried curry paste with green beans, sliced kaffir lime leaves and pork rind. It was served with a cup of rice and was well presented. Although I asked for less chilli, it was very spicy and I had to keep washing it down with water. It was however, very tasty and had a fishy flavour to it. The soft prawns contrasted well with the crunchy beans and crispy pork rind. I really enjoyed this dish but would have preferred less chilli.

3

Prawn Pad Prik Khing, $15.00

My friend ordered the Praram with vegetables and tofu, which was topped with peanut sauce. Although the waitress had to check whether they could do the dish with tofu, they got it right in the end and PJ seemed to really enjoy her meal.

4

Vegetable Praram, $13.00

Overall a great lunch experience and I will definitely return again-stay tuned!

Rating:

Overall I would rate my experience (out of 10):

  • Service- 4
  • Food- 7
  • Ambience- 7.5
  • Value – 7

Spice I Am - the Restaurant on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Spice I Am, Darlinghurst ($)

  1. Pingback: Wok On Inn, The Rocks ($) | The Casual Food Blogger

Leave a Reply

