Din Tai Fung, Westfield Sydney ($)

Address: Shop K504/505 Level 5 Westfield Sydney, 188 Pitt Street, Sydney NSW

Tel: (02) 8246 7032

Website: http://www.dintaifungaustralia.com.au

Opening Hours:

Mon-Wed: 10:00am – 6:30pm
Thursday: 10:00am – 9:00pm
Fri-Sat: 10:00am – 8:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am – 6:00pm

* * *

This was the second time I’ve been to Din Tai Fung (see here for the first time).

I love their delicious soft pork buns and tasty dumplings and so a few friends and I decided to return for an easy and conveniently-located Monday dinner.

Despite it being a Monday, Westfield Sydney was still quite busy.

We had a look at the menu and placed our orders. My friends both ordered the Wonton Soups. One of them also ordered the Golden Lava Cake which, I was advised, is basically a pork bun with custard inside.

I decided to go for the Spicy Shrimp and Pork Wonton Noodle. I checked first to make sure it wasn’t too spicy (apparently it is medium). I also ordered a Peach Ice Tea to ensure that if it was spicy I would be able to handle it!

The noodles came out relatively quickly. They were very well presented and tasted absolutely delicious. I loved the spiciness- it was the perfect amount, and enjoyed the moist wontons. The only negative would probably be that the spicy sauce was very oily (probably made up of some sort of chilli paste mixed with oil).

1

I also ordered a pork bun as a side. The Din Tai Fung pork buns and delicious and soft and the meat is cooked on the inside until it is just brown so it retains its softness. The buns are also very pretty to look at and you can watch them being made through the glass window.

2

Overall we all enjoyed our meals. The spicy noodles were delicious and different to what I normally get (dumplings and pork buns). Definitely worth a try!

Rating:

Overall I would rate my dining experience (out of 10):

    • Service- 3
    • Food- 8
    • Ambience- 4
    • Value – 8

Din Tai Fung on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Din Tai Fung, Westfield Sydney ($)

  1. their dumplings are pretty good.. and i do like their hand made noodles also, but like you, found the spicy noodles a little bit too oily for my liking.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Din Tai Fung, World Square ($$) | The Casual Food Blogger

Leave a Reply

