Guest Reviews: Serious Angus Burger & Mighty Angus Burger

When two of my friends agreed to write the first guest blog post for The Casual Food Blogger I was a little skeptical at first. What would they write about? Where would they review? However I knew from the start that it would be an entertaining read. Here is what happened when they reviewed McDonald’s Angus Burgers.

Serious Angus Burger Review- by Michael Pedersen

When the ‘Grand’ and ‘Mighty’ Angus burgers were introduced to Australian franchises a few years ago, it was clear that McDonald’s were trying to make their menus more ‘gourmet’.

Whether it be the sourdough buns, the gourmet salad mix, the fancy relish or the mouth-watering Angus beef patty, it was clear that these burgers meant business.

I have to admit, I was completely sucked in by these Angus options. It was all very exciting for a few months because I’d never seen McDonald’s release a burger that looked so fancy.

But eventually I began to grow disgusted by the extremely fatty aftertaste that the Angus patties left in my mouth. Someone at Maccas must have listened, because they’ve made some changes to the old favourites – the Grand and Mighty Angus – as well as introducing a new addition to the family – The Serious Angus Burger.

They’re now calling the Angus range ‘home-style’ after infusing the patty with parsley, garlic and onion and adding a wheat germ bun.

The Serious Angus Burger includes tomato, egg, beetroot, onion and lettuce. It definitely gives off a big Aussie vibe. I’ve got to say that I wasn’t expecting to like it, as I’d tried the Serious Lamb Burger which is the same burger but with Lamb and didn’t like it all that much. However, the Serious Lamb Burger’s beef cousin is a step in the right direction.

Despite the huge appearance of the burger itself, you don’t feel like you’re eating a heart attack on a plate. The patty appears to be less fatty and the garlic, parsley and onion influence adds a nice touch.

The egg, beetroot, tomato and lettuce offer plenty of fresh ingredients for those who love their variety in a burger.

As for the bun, it actually somewhat resembles bread, which is saying something when it comes to Maccas. Most buns tend to just melt in your mouth, but this new wheat germ bun actually requires a bit of chewing, which is refreshing in a way.

For a Maccas burger, The Serious Angus Burger is right up there. You don’t get that sick feeling in the stomach that you might normally get from other McDonald’s burgers. I’m sure the Mighty and Grand varieties will also receive a boost from the new changes implemented by the golden arches.

I give The Serious Angus Burger 4 stars out of 5.

Malteser McFlurry Review- by Michael Pedersen

Someone slap me, because I swear the McFlurry didn’t used to be like this.

I was encouraged to purchase the Malteser McFlurry so that it could be reviewed for the readers of this wonderful blog. I’d been thinking about getting it for a while and finally took the plunge.

The last time I had a McFlurry, they hadn’t introduced all the new flavours. They used to grind up the confectionary of choice, dispense them into the soft serve and then use the McFlurry machine to infuse it into the ice cream.

I was very surprised to see that my Malteser ‘McFlurry’ wasn’t really a McFlurry at all. It was virtually a chocolate sundae with Maltesers scattered on top.

The actual point of the McFlurry is the form it comes in, not what is inside. I don’t know whether Maccas wanted to get rid of their McFlurry machines so they could have more space but their McFlurries have suffered as a result.

If I wanted a sundae with Maltesers I could make it myself. You can’t achieve the same effect by stirring the soft serve with your own spoon.

I give the Malteser McFlurry 2 stars out of 5.

Mighty Angus Burger Review -by Simon Ashari

Apart from the new bun and meat patty this was not a new burger. I had tried the previous version and am glad to say that this one is a huge improvement.

Both the meat and bun have an improved texture.

Previously the bun had a taste and texture of being too doughy. It also did not sit well in ones stomach. While the new bun is still thick enough to bite into (and to hold the contents of the burger) it has a more ‘fluffy texture’. A definite improvement.

If you buy one of the regular burgers from McDonalds, eat half the burger and then squeeze it. You’ll notice grease pouring out. This is what happened with the old angus burgers (despite using superior angus beef). That no longer happens with the new angus burger.


The texture of the meat is greatly improved. I am guessing they added a touch of flower for the sake of after taste and a few traces of herbs for the sake of flavour. One gripe I had about the meat patty was that it didn’t fit in the bun (a different size and shape).

Other than the one minor gripe, this burger was a drastic improvement. Another plus was that the burger sat well in my stomach. I didn’t get the usual McDonalds bloated feeling. Rather I felt a satisfying fullness.

I give it 3.5 stars out of 5.

Fruit Bag Review– by Simon Ashari

I ate the fruit bag for desert. This was basically a small cut up apple.

The fruit would be good for a child. It’s cold (comes out of refrigeration) and cut up into small pieces with none of the core or seeds left.

Why did I buy the fruit bag? I wanted to force Michael into getting the Malteaser McFlurry. I had at one point eaten everything off the desert menu with the exception of the fruit bag. After eating it, he had no excuse not to try and review that McFlurry. Hope he had fun working it off.

For an apple, the fruit bag gets 5 stars out of 5. However it definitely isn’t the cheapest apple going.

Michael is a writer at Rugby League Week and studied Media at Macquarie University. He is available to write articles, reviews and other pieces. If you would like to contact him, please send an email to: michaeljulianpedersen@gmail.com

The guest reviewers also made a video of their review. If you would like to view it, it is available herePlease note that the video contains language that may be offensive to some viewers. If you think you might be offended, please do not watch it.

DISCLAIMER:

This review is a guest review and reflects the reviewers own personal opinions on the product. The Casual Food Blogger accepts no responsibility for anything that is said in this review or anything contained in, or arising out of the videos or photos contained in or referred to in this review. 

One thought on “Guest Reviews: Serious Angus Burger & Mighty Angus Burger

Leave a Reply

