Din Tai Fung, Westfield Sydney ($)

Din Tai Fung, Westfield Sydney

Address: Cafe Court Level 5, Westfield Sydney, 188 Pitt Street, Sydney NSW 2000

Telephone: (02) 8246 7032

Website: http://www.dintaifung.com.au/westfield.html

Opening Hours:

Mon-Wed: 10:00am – 6:30pm
Thursday: 10:00am – 9:00pm
Fri-Sat: 10:00am – 8:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am – 6:00pm

* * *

A Wednesday night dinner with my uni friends provided me with an excellent opportunity to try out a dumpling place which I have heard so much about.

Din Tai Fung (see: http://www.dintaifung.com.au/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1&Itemid=2) claims to have “the Best Dumplings in Australia.”

Image

Now I certainly have not sampled all the dumplings in Australia. Nor do I claim to be any sort of dumplings expert. But I like a good dumpling as much as the next food reviewer.

So three of us shared a few items, mainly dumplings, in order to be able to taste a few dishes.

We ordered:

Battered calamari with tangy dip, $8.80

The calamari was crisp, although possibly a little undercooked for my liking. The sauce wasn’t very appealing as it was a little lumpy, but all in all not a bad dish.Image

Steamed pork dumplings (4 pieces), $5.80

These dumplings were delicious and juicy, perfectly shaped and bite-sized for easy eating! I did find them a little messy as one bite of the dumpling led to a Niagara Falls sized dribble of dumpling juices down my chin!

Image

Steamed shrimp and pork dumplings (4 pieces), $9.80

Also delicious but I would have preferred it if they were just shrimp only instead of shrimp and pork as the shrimp was a little overpowered by the pork.

Image

Pork Bun, $2.80

By far my favourite part of the meal. These pork buns were soft and warm and filled with a delicious mixture of pork which went really well with soy sauce. I loved them so much that I ended up taking some home for my parents and brother!

Image

Green bean with minced pork, $10.50

This was something that I wouldn’t normally order but as I saw a few other tables getting their green bean on, I suggested this as an option to my co-eaters. It proved to be a great selection as the beans were slightly spicy and complimented the mild flavours of the dumplings and pork buns perfectly. One co-eater informed me that this dish is similar to a Malaysian dish which she knows of as well.

Image

Cost

Overall the bill was about $40.00 which between three worked out to be approx $15.00. Great value considering we were all full afterwards!

Rating

Overall I would rate my dining experience (out of 10):

    • Service- 1 (there was little or no service involved as the food is served bistro style- you are given a buzzer and collect your meal from them once it is ready)
    • Food- 7 (great food, although I don’t know about the “best dumplings in Australia”)
    • Ambience- 3
    • Value – 8

Din Tai Fung on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Din Tai Fung, Westfield Sydney ($)

  1. Pingback: Din Tai Fung, World Square ($$) | The Casual Food Blogger

Leave a Reply

