Criniti’s, Darling Harbour ($$)

Criniti’s, Darling Harbour

Address: Shop 461, 2-10 Darling Drive, Harbourside Shopping Centre,  Darling Harbour NSW 2000

Phone: 1300274 648

Website: http://www.crinitis.com.au/

* * *

So I’d been to Criniti’s once before but it was a while ago and I couldn’t really remember how much I liked it. A friend’s birthday and a group catch up was the perfect opportunity to refresh my memory!

So I had made a booking for 6 people from 7-9pm as we were told that there was a reservation for that table at 9pm.When I got there they eventually found my booking and led me to a table. However, when my friends arrived they were told that no booking existed under my name, even though I was already sitting at a table with 5 empty seats! I had to go out the front of the restaurant to retrieve my friends, which needless to say I was not too happy about!

The restaurant was very busy but there were plenty of staff available to look after the diners and it was easy to get their attention if you wanted something. It was a good atmosphere for dinner on a Friday night.

Drinks

When my friends arrived we ordered a “Dolce Vita” which was a 6 person cocktail with red wine, brandy, triple sec, strawberries, peaches, club soda, and a cinnamon stick. At $59 it was pretty pricey but between 6 people it worked out to be less than $10 each. It also lasted us the whole night!

The drink tasted like Sangria and although I don’t really like alcohol that tastes like alcohol (yes I’m an alcopop person!), it was okay. Also, the fruit that was left in the bowl after we drank the cocktail tasted great!

Image

Dinner

We were all pretty hungry after work so we decided to order the famous 1 metre pizza. You get to choose 3 toppings and so we decided on:

  • Bosco– chives, ricotta, D.O.P fior de latte mozzarella and porcini truffle paste;
  • Maiale– confit pork belly, caramelised onion, sugo di pomodoro, radicchio marinated in aged balsamic and olive oil;
  • Fichi– baked figs with D.O.P. mozzarella di buffala, gorgonzola cheese and prosciutto with basil.

Some of the ingredients did confuse us quite a bit, including D.O.P fior de latte mozzarella (which turns out to be mozarella made from cow’s milk), sugo di pomodoro (which is a tomato-based sauce- see http://www.theartisan.net/sugo_di_pomodoro.htm), and D.O.P. mozzarella di buffala which is buffalo mozzarella.

This huge 1 metre pizza came to $97.50. Doesn’t it look amazing?

Image

We also ordered a”mediterraneo” side salad for $16.90. It had lettuce, cherry tomatoes, red onion, goat cheese, olives, cucumber, wood fired capsicum and aged balsamic. It was a little soggy (perhaps they have it pre-prepared?), but the dressing was delicious! We could have done with maybe one more salad as we each got only a small serving of it.

Although the pizza looked MASSIVE, we did manage to finish it off (quite proud of our efforts!), and it was definitely a winner! I am a big fan of pork belly, figs and prosciutto so those two pizzas were my favourites.

Dessert

I was already full after dinner so when a friend suggested we get the dessert platter ($49), I was a little unsure if I could handle it. However, it was a friend’s birthday and it wouldn’t be a birthday without cake, so we decided to order it.

We asked the waiter to bring out the cheering waiters with bongos along with the dessert platter to give our birthday girl three cheers! However, whilst she had gone to the bathroom a group of about 6 waiters came out and clapped and cheered the missing birthday girl! When she returned the dessert platter was already on our table waiting for her.Our waiter kindly organised for them to come out once more and cheer for her, despite being quite busy, which I thought was very nice of them.

The dessert platter consisted of cannoli, tiramisu, zeppole, creme brulee, torta di ricotta and panna cotta.

Image

I really LOVED the creme brulee which had a perfect toffee on top, and the yummy cinnamon sugared doughnuts dipped in hazelnut spread were heavenly! I am not a big ricotta and cannoli fan so I didn’t really enjoy those dishes. My friends told me they loved the sticky date pudding and tiramisu.

Cost

Overall the bill came to about $221 which we split between 5 people (birthday girl excluded). It was about $46 per person. I thought it was pretty good value considering it included drinks, food and dessert. The food tasted great and the service was good.

Rating

Overall I would rate my dining experience (out of 10):

    • Service- 8
    • Food- 6
    • Ambience- 8
    • Value – 6

Criniti’s Darling Harbour on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Criniti’s, Darling Harbour ($$)

  1. Pingback: Criniti’s, Darling Harbour ($$) |

Leave a Reply

